Some of you may wonder how I, or anyone else, create my rides. I first come up with an idea for a theme. I will use a 7-inversion coaster in the style of Bolliger and Mabillard, a Swiss coaster firm, as my example. A standard 7-inversion B+M features the following inversions, in order:

  • Loop
  • Diving Loop/Immelmann
  • Zero-G Roll
  • Cobra Roll (2 inversions)
  • Flatspin (Corkscrew)
  • Flatspin

Bolliger and Mabillard are also known for smoothness, so I will have to stretch out my segments.

The first thing I do is press “Reset”, so I have a clean slate. I then go into “Settings” and turn off “First and Last Segments Are Connected” so that I can see where I’m working on. Finally, I delete all but one segment. Now, the trackwork may begin.

First off, I decide the height of the lift hill. I’ll use a hill of height 53, which is plenty for what I am doing. The horizontal length should match the vertical length for lift hills. Next, I create the first drop. This will go down to height 5, and curve as well. The length should be

